Holy Ship

So much and so little has happened in these last few days at sea. We are only 2 days from Japan WAHOO!
The boat has finally started to feel like home. I catch myself saying “let me go home first” referring to my room, which I find odd yet comforting. We have been discussing the concept of time a lot since we’ve been on this ship. It is amazing how much happens at home in a week versus here. It feels as though I am worthless, just sitting on this ship, relaxing by the pool, counting down the minutes till my next meal. But at the same time, so much has happened in a short week. I know more about some these friends that I’ve known for a week than some I’ve known for years. It’s sort of scary what the removal of technology can do. It’s nice to just sit back and relax a little.

Once we get to Japan the trip will fly by. Our class schedules are divided into rotating A and B days. Today is A7 meaning we are about a third of the way through classes… wow. After our five days in Japan, we have only two on-ship days until China and then another two between China and Vietnam. So of the next 22 days, only 6 will be class. I expect for most of my learning to take place in country though. Ah!

Such a small amount of time between each of the countries (and a bit of boredom) has forced us to plan for all three countries these past few days. This has proved to be more difficult than expected considering we don’t have internet, but we are making it work.

Our plan for Japan, so far, is to spend two days in Tokyo, two in Kyoto, and two in Kobe. Words cannot express how excited we all are to eat sushi and ditch the pasta and potatoes for a few days. I have eaten more pb&j’s in the last two weeks than I have in all my life combined.

A few things that have happened since I last posted:

1. We crossed the international date line! My year will have one less day than most, which is sort of cool!

2. I fell face first while working in the library, leaving me with two scabs and a bruise on my face

3. Meryl and I have officially eaten 85% of our snacks- including a 2 lb bag of sour patch kids.

4. WE HAD TACO DAY!!! arguably the best day on the ship so far.

5. We have used half a container of aloe (life is hard laying out by the pool everyday)

Well, wish me luck as we sail through these 15-25 feet swells! The captain has asked us to take everything off of our shelves and to stay away from doors. We aren’t allowed to wear opened-toed shoes either lol.. sort of scary slamming down on the waves, but also pretty cool. Earlier today a pino on deck nine fell over. It’s weird sitting in class staring out the window and picturing a scene from Poseidon.

Next Stop: Yokohama!

One thought on “Holy Ship

  1. Your writing is so descriptive I can actually “see” what is happening on board! Continue the great writing.

    Love and miss you,

    Grandma

    Like

Leave a comment